National Border Patrol Council Statement of Support for the NYPD

Our thoughts and prayers are with the families of New York police officers, Wenjian Liu and Rafael Ramos, who were gunned down in Brooklyn last month. These brave men gave their lives to protect the community they loved. Their unselfish dedication to their department, their city and their fellow officers is an inspiration to our nation.

The more than 16,500 men and women represented by the National Border Patrol Council stand in support of the slain officers and with all the men and women of the New York Police Department.

Law enforcement is a noble calling that deserves the respect and support of the community and politicians. Each time a police officer leaves home and reports for duty, he or she does so with uncertainty about whether they will return to their family.

Now is the time for each of us to redouble our commitment to support those who are responsible for protecting us. Our streets, our neighborhoods and our families are safer because brave men and women accept the responsibility of putting on a badge and standing up to those who want to tear down everything that is decent and good.

The men and women of the U.S. Border Patrol stand strong with our brothers and sisters in blue, and call on all Americans to do the same. May God bless all our nation’s law enforcement officers.

Brandon Judd
President, National Border Patrol Council

Terence Shigg
President, Local 1613 – San Diego

Rob Russell
President, Local 1929 – El Paso

Christian Porras
President, Local 2266 – Swanton

Robert McArdle
President, Local 2349 – Houlton

Jon Anfinsen
President, Local 2366 – Del Rio

Jeff Shawgo
President, Local 2455 – Laredo

Don Natzke
President, Local 2499 – Detroit

Lee Smith
President, Local 2509 – Big Bend

Art Del Cueto
President, Local 2544 – Tucson

Lombardo Amaya
President, Local 2554 – El Centro

Brett Worsencroft
President, Local 2595 – Yuma

Michael O’Connor
President, Local 2724 – Buffalo

Kylie Johnson
President, Local 2789 – Grand Forks

Michael Cox
President, Local 2913 – Blaine, Spokane, and Havre

Paul Perez
President, Local 3307 – Rio Grande Valley

Tony Fiorita
President, Local 3725 – Miami